’tis my old self

8 Oct

When my wife dared me to write 10 things about myself, I positively sulked.  Why would I want to do that ?  It’s akin to undressing myself in front of a lot of people.  Also, I seriously think that she did that on purpose, – just to make my day busier.

In the end, she won.  Being someone who lived with me for almost 5 years now ( we’re going to have our anniversary come November ), – she knows my hot buttons.  I hate to be challenged.  So without further ado, here are ten things about me :

  1. I’m a pompous smartassI know a lot of things. A lot.  I take pride of the fact that never in the life of me, – there is someone who came to talk about any topics to me that I can’t discuss.  The Simpsons, The Story of Jonah, Homer or Sin City.  Southpark, Axis Mundi, Rammstein or Foucault.  Try me.
  2. I’m a father.  The family alpha male who will murder to protect my family.  A man who will take a bullet for his offsprings.
  3. I’m a student of life.  I believe that I exist in this world for one single purpose : to learn and never stop growing, – no matter how old I am.  There’s a lesson in every little thing in this world.  The butterfly, the sun light, the homeless man who pass by your window every morning.  Nothing is trivial.
  4. I’m a Christian in the purest sense of the word.  I worship and follow Christ.  I consider Him my friend, – as he keeps on proving to me time after time.  But I also think that the church is a failure.  I will still introduce my children to the church, – but will let them decide at their own right what religious practices to adopt.
  5. I’m a serious reader.  I devour books.  Started to read when I was 3 years old, by now I have read about 5,000 books, – many of them more than once.  You will have no way of verifying this, but trust me when I tell you so. 🙂
  6. I’m a faithful being.  My closest ones will testify of this fact.  While I’m not always the most resourceful person, I believe in the sacredness of family.  Its bind will always tie me unto the grave.
  7. I inspire people.  Conversely, I’m not so good at inspiring myself.  One of my college friend wrote this about me : “I love how you help others to see the light ; but hate the blindness that cover your very own eyes.”  Need I say more ?
  8. I’m a HIV sufferer.  Since I was diagnosed with the virus, I decided that this will be a part of my identity.  Not because I’m proud of it.  Not because I am looking for sympathy.  It’s simply because I want to be that torch where people at my condition can look to and stay positive.
  9. I struggle to follow any schedules.  Oh, don’t get me wrong. I love planning what I need to do.  It’s sticking to it that I have trouble doing.  In fact, about 7 years ago, I planned that I will have my own company by now.  Look where I am now.  A telling fact, – really.
  10. I will be a bookstore owner.  I promised my wife that before I die, she will inherit a book store from me.  Remember that small book store in Notting Hill ?  I’ll run one of those with one factual difference : maybe Julia Roberts will not run into my store. 🙂

There you have it, guys.  I hope you don’t hate me after reading it.  As they say, honesty is the best policy 🙂

P.S. : The very purpose of this post is the viral blog posting idea.  If any of you read this post, please continue writing this about yourself.  Believe me, the experience will be worth the trouble !  On particular, I’d like to see the following people write this :

  • gcgal, my Plurk friend and angel with a heart of gold
  • chibialfa, my Twitter friend who shares a same short nickname with me
  • patvandiest, my Twitter friend who I admire for his gas mask ( his post can be found here. It’s in Bahasa Indonesia, but strongly described what a remarkable mind I have as a friend – you know who you are, Pal.. )
10 Responses to “’tis my old self”

  1. wendishness October 8, 2008 at 9:45 pm #

    What a great post and insightful too, I will take up the challenge though I might have to have a little think about what I’ll share, I never feel interesting enough.

  2. chibialfa October 9, 2008 at 12:57 am #

    urgh.

    why didn’t you just challenge me to create ads? It would be so much easier 😛

    A creative director tried to recruit me. It was the weirdest interview I’ve ever been into. My notebook was prepared with slides of my recent works, he didn’t care and just ask that horrifying questing

    “tell me about yourself”

    (urgh)

    Although I ended up turning down the job, it was an interview that impressed me most.

    anyways, when working on a brief, I always ask this “what do you want other people feel when they see this?”. So help me out, when people knows 10 things about you, what do you expect them to feel? inspired? challenged? sad? content? grateful? envy?

    I hope the answer is not: to beat your 10 things writing, Fa. Damn difficult tuh 😛

  3. unquote October 9, 2008 at 1:15 am #

    @chibialfa

    It’s because it’s so rare that I found someone else being called with the same suffix “Fa”, – I instantly had you on my mind as the one I should challenge 🙂

    On the serious side, just be yourself. What do people feel about you ? Leave it at that. Like me, I make it my business to inspire people; but just for that post, I don’t give a damn if I inspire or not.

    See, the reason of this “task” is taking a long, hard look at yourself in all honesty. There are some enlightenments you’ll come to. Guaranteed..! 🙂

    Thanks for paying it forward 🙂

  4. chibialfa October 9, 2008 at 2:21 am #

    just be yourself.

    who am I? what am I? what do I want to do with myself? am I the person I have always thought I am?

    Honesty. True. To. Self.

    has been my greatest enemy in the last couple months of my life.

    hey… got one already.

    yeah, I’ll try. I hope I can. You’re welcome 🙂

  5. Nana October 9, 2008 at 3:57 am #

    I like the last one. The one where you said you will be a bookstore owner. It also has been one of my life goal to have some sort of books/records store as a form of my fondness towards books and music.

    The thought of having yourself surrounded by things you love everyday is the greatest feeling.

    Good luck on your plan =)

  6. anima October 11, 2008 at 6:49 am #

    seems like everyone I know wants to open a book store, whew, I’ll open a coffee shop instead. with free fast wifi :p

  7. unquote October 14, 2008 at 5:55 pm #

    read and commented 🙂 Good and brave post 😀

  8. F October 16, 2008 at 1:22 am #

    i like the way you explain yourself. honest.

    i believe in miracle. HIV is not uncured disease. great post man 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 10 Things about Me « chibialfa can’t draw - October 14, 2008

    […] been tagged by Fajar Jasmin  to list down 10 Things About Me, part of his wife’s project. Wasn’t an easy task. So […]

Leave a Reply

