Half Broken Things : Sweet Humiliation

22 Oct

If you’re anything like me, you must have some judgement ( however slight ) of a book you’re going to read.  Otherwise, we wouldn’t be interested to read any books at all.

Half Broken Things, I’m ashamed to say, is one of the books that I underestimated.  Two days later, after I finished reading it, I was completely humiliated.  Not that I mind, though..

You know.. I’ve always been fascinated by writers who can take some dull, bland and tasteless events and painted them with his words to form a vivid picture of an exciting events.  Harper Lee’s “To Kill a Mockingbird” and Salinger’s “Catcher in the Rye” instantly come to mind.  In a way, I think that’s what separates great works from the rest : the ability to transcend an ordinary world into a gloriously sweet ( or sad ) surroundings.

This is where this book main strength lies.  Daily concerns like money and food turned into a monster that haunts you constantly here. Telling the story of three reluctant loners in life, it successfully chilled me to the bone that hunger and loneliness are very real.  And when they are, they will drive some people to the dizzy heights of a psychological cliff-edge, not knowing where to ( or even whether if he should ! ) return.  For Steph, Michael and Jean, they are simply some dire needs to die for.

I really could not talk about this book a lot without risking to give you some spoiler.  Its simplicity doesn’t allow that.  Don’t let it deceive you though.  I’ll just make one comment at this point :  As far as I remember, this is the only book where I encountered crimes that feel so natural, effortless and pristine.  At some points, I even could not continue without lighting a cigarette to calm my nerves…

Anyway, if there’s a time I wouldn’t mind being humiliated, it’s the time after I read this book.  Heart-wrenching, thought-provoking, subtle, poignant and even lyrical; this book is sublime.  Very much recommended.. ( 3.5 out of 5 )

4 Responses to “Half Broken Things : Sweet Humiliation”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. » Half Broken Things : Sweet Humiliation » Chronicle of Philanthropy - October 28, 2008

    […] by unknown « Bob Giloth: Creepy Philanthropy Your Daily Dose of Vitamin Moose: Bob Barr on […]

  2. » Half Broken Things : Sweet Humiliation » Chronicle of Philanthropy - October 28, 2008

    […] by unknown « Bob Giloth: Creepy Philanthropy Your Daily Dose of Vitamin Moose: Bob Barr on […]

  3. Unquote » Blog Archive » The Hand That Feeds - November 17, 2008

    […] tagging Nindya and Leonnie FM to write on any topic from the list, you both know what to do ( see my previous post […]

  4. Unquote » Blog Archive » The Hand That Feeds - November 17, 2008

    […] tagging Nindya and Leonnie FM to write on any topic from the list, you both know what to do ( see my previous post […]

Leave a Reply

