Kindle Auction for Padang Quake Victims

5 Oct

I’m doing this with a very heavy heart. First of all, being a writer, my Kindle has been a very prized possession of mine. Not to mention that it was given to me by a very dear friend of mine, which left a deep imprint of my heart because it was given to me during my difficult times when I was hospitalized December last year.

However, after clearing this out with the said friend, I decided to auction my dear Kindle. I just could not stay silent after what happened in Padang. The town was hit by a bout of severe earthquakes and was devastated by it. Today, I am also particularly sickened by the news which stated that the help for the victims was biased against a particular ethnic. Granted, not all of the relief organizations and workers acted this way. Still, I lament those who did. How can anybody act so callously? How can you be so insolent to insult humanity by choosing who to help? All victims are human, period. Everybody must be helped, regardless of their ethnicity, race or religion.

So, solemnly I do this. I’m not going to lie, I still need an eBook reader; especially with my condition who gets too easily exhausted reading in sitting positions. That’s why, I’m keeping part of the auction proceeds to find a new reader. I hope that there will still be enough interest to bid on my Kindle, considering that eBook reader is a difficult thing to find here.

So here’s how it works :

The minimum bid is IDR 3,500,000.Β  It definitely is not cheap.Β  But again, an eBook reader is very difficult to get here in Indonesia, – and we’re doing this for a good cause.

I will keep the minimum bid for the reason I stated above. Any difference between the minimum bid and the winning bid will be donated to Padang earthquake victim. For example, if the winning bid is IDR 5 million, I will donate 1.5 million to the victims.

The auction begins at the time of this post.

The bids will need to be entered and raised by a minimum amount of IDR 100,000.

You bid by commenting on this post with your desired amount. I will contact the winner by e-mail. Please check this post regularly to monitor the bids.

The bidding period ends at Thursday, 8 October 2009 at 0.00 am ( GMT +7 ). This may be extended if there’s not enough interest.

The winner will need to meet me somewhere in Jakarta to pick up the Kindle. If he/she wants it to be sent somewhere outside Jakarta, I may be able to do so. Any shipping cost and risk would need to be separately paid.

As for my Kindle, above is the picture of it. I still have its complete accessories : charger, packaging, manual, and its leather cover. Please bear in mind that it’s the first generation of Kindle, the specification of which can be found here.

Needless to say, I reserve the right to cancel or amend any of the auction rules. However, as I ponder about what happened, it is my sincerest prayer that you all can join hands with me in doing whatever we can to help alleviate the effect of this grievous thing to our brothers in Padang.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
26 Responses to “Kindle Auction for Padang Quake Victims”

  1. Koen October 5, 2009 at 2:45 am #

    This is the only Kindle I have physically touched :).
    Now let me think of a number …

  2. Koen October 5, 2009 at 2:45 am #

    This is the only Kindle I have physically touched :).
    Now let me think of a number …

  3. unquote October 5, 2009 at 3:52 am #

    @Koen : Thanks for being the first one to express interest…

    Waiting for your bid, Sir πŸ™‚

  4. unquote October 5, 2009 at 3:52 am #

    @Koen : Thanks for being the first one to express interest…

    Waiting for your bid, Sir πŸ™‚

  5. Koen October 5, 2009 at 5:10 am #

    I’ll start our bid with a number you mentioned above. 5m.
    I hope it can provoke the others.

  6. Koen October 5, 2009 at 5:10 am #

    I’ll start our bid with a number you mentioned above. 5m.
    I hope it can provoke the others.

  7. unquote October 5, 2009 at 5:34 am #

    @Koen : Thank you very much, Sir…

    I thank God for your heart of gold πŸ™‚

  8. unquote October 5, 2009 at 5:34 am #

    @Koen : Thank you very much, Sir…

    I thank God for your heart of gold πŸ™‚

  9. Brett McGuire October 5, 2009 at 5:22 pm #

    5,2.

  10. Brett McGuire October 5, 2009 at 5:22 pm #

    5,2.

  11. unquote October 5, 2009 at 8:17 pm #

    @Brett, Thanks….

    God bless you!

  12. unquote October 5, 2009 at 8:17 pm #

    @Brett, Thanks….

    God bless you!

  13. Brett McGuire October 6, 2009 at 4:55 am #

    What? I’m the last bidder? Come on guys!

  14. Brett McGuire October 6, 2009 at 4:55 am #

    What? I’m the last bidder? Come on guys!

  15. unquote October 7, 2009 at 7:31 am #

    Comment test to calibrate the time…

  16. unquote October 7, 2009 at 7:31 am #

    Comment test to calibrate the time…

  17. unquote October 7, 2009 at 7:36 am #

    OK, in my comment above, the timestamp is 7 October 2009, 7:31 am… In my local time, now is 7 October 2009, 9:30 pm.

    This means, that I will still accept any bids that come before 7 October 2009, 9 am ( according to the comment timestamp ).

    If you bid precisely at 9 am, you will be disqualified. So, you’re looking for a timestamp that said 7 October 2009, 8:59 am, – at the latest.

    I hope it clarifies things….

    Good luck, people! πŸ™‚

  18. unquote October 7, 2009 at 7:36 am #

    OK, in my comment above, the timestamp is 7 October 2009, 7:31 am… In my local time, now is 7 October 2009, 9:30 pm.

    This means, that I will still accept any bids that come before 7 October 2009, 9 am ( according to the comment timestamp ).

    If you bid precisely at 9 am, you will be disqualified. So, you’re looking for a timestamp that said 7 October 2009, 8:59 am, – at the latest.

    I hope it clarifies things….

    Good luck, people! πŸ™‚

  19. unquote October 7, 2009 at 9:27 am #

    It is closed…

    Congrats, Brett, you’re the winner!

    @Koen : Thanks for bidding, Sir πŸ™‚

  20. unquote October 7, 2009 at 9:27 am #

    It is closed…

    Congrats, Brett, you’re the winner!

    @Koen : Thanks for bidding, Sir πŸ™‚

  21. Koen October 9, 2009 at 12:48 am #

    Yeah :). Really sorry that I could not bid higher.
    Congrats, Brett.

  22. Koen October 9, 2009 at 12:48 am #

    Yeah :). Really sorry that I could not bid higher.
    Congrats, Brett.

  23. unquote October 9, 2009 at 1:02 am #

    @Koen Don’t be sorry.. It was your gesture who started this πŸ™‚

  24. unquote October 9, 2009 at 1:02 am #

    @Koen Don’t be sorry.. It was your gesture who started this πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Unquote » Blog Archive » Fall on Your Knees : The Magical Story of My Kindle - October 8, 2009

    […] couple of days ago while I was auctioning my Kindle for the victims of Padang earthquake, I gave a hint on my Twitter status that I will share a […]

  2. Unquote » Blog Archive » Fall on Your Knees : The Magical Story of My Kindle - October 8, 2009

    […] couple of days ago while I was auctioning my Kindle for the victims of Padang earthquake, I gave a hint on my Twitter status that I will share a […]

Leave a Reply

